CFDA Fashion Awards presented in New York

on Tuesday,June 08,2010 19:06


The Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) held its 2010 Fashion Awards last night at Alice Tully Hall in New York.

Among the honorees was Marc Jacobs, who received the Womenswear Designer of the Year Award. David Neville & Marcus Wainwright were named the recipients of the Menswear Designer of the Year Award. Alexis Bittar was was presented with the Accessory Designer of the Year Award.

The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to designer Michael Kors. Model-actress Iman was presented with the Fashion Icon Award by Isabella Rossellini.

"Tonight is the night we designers and members of the industry salute our peers and celebrate their talents. We are a family," said CFDA president Diane von Furstenberg in her welcoming remarks.

The Popular Vote Award, sponsored by L'Oreal of Paris, went to designer Ralph Lauren. The general public was given the opportunity to vote in this category through a website sponsored by Womens Wear Daily.

CFDA scholarships were also presented. The Geoffrey Beene Design Scholarship went to Carmen Chen Wu. The Liz Claiborne Fashion Scholarship winner was Jusil Carroll and the CFDA/Teen Vogue Scholarship recipient was Nicole Goh.
Refine School Matches
Hide filters
  • SUBJECT Clear All


    See More



    Please enter valid US or Canada Zip.
            Results open in new window

            Searching Searching ...

            Matching School Ads
            Fashion Design (BFA)
            • Alumni have appeared in reality competition shows such as Top Chef and Project Runway.
            • Has a team of about 4,000 faculty members focused on helping students tap opportunities in a marketplace driven by ideas.
            • Offers programs in design, media arts, fashion, and culinary.
            • Provides program coordinators who work with students to ensure they have the learning materials, assignments, facilities, and faculty to get the most out of the program.
            • Over 50 campus locations nationwide.
            Show more [+]
            • Flexible Scheduling
            • Financial Aid

            Latest Articles & News

            Kanye West to perform during Paris Fashion Week
            It is no secret to many that music artist Kanye West is no stranger to fashion, and now he will be showing his new collection during Paris Fashion Week later this week, according to the Elle Magazine.

            Second designer chosen for home decor competition
            Teenlike.com, an ongoing online competition for young home decor designers, announced its second winner. Brandon Dover of Apply Valley, California, was this year's winner, as he created an abstract pen and inkwork design for a bedspread.